About Me!

Hello there! My name is McKenna Childs. As of right now I am a junior at the Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science in Worcester. I attended Worcester Academy in middle school, and then Notre Dame Academy for my Freshman and Sophomore year. I am from Ware, which is a small town in Western Massachusetts. I live on a farm and take care of my nine chickens, ten turkeys, and my peacock named Apache Rose.

Apache Rose
Brewer and Newton


I have participated in many sports at the schools I’ve attended. I competed in cross country from sixth to tenth grade, and I still do track. In middle school I was a member of Worcester Academy’s swim team. I do many other sports recreationally. I have been running since I was four years old, and I have run dozens of 5ks and 10ks, and I just finished my fourth half marathon in June.

I have been skiing for 13 years. I travel all over Northern America and Canada with my family to go on ski vacations. Some of my favorite mountains are Killington in Vermont, Sunday River in Maine, Sutton, Owl’s Head, and Bromont in the Eastern Townships of Quebec.

I am also a martial artist, I have been training at Blue Stone Dojang for six years. I am a blue belt in Tae Kwon Do (training from ages 10-14) and a red belt in Hapkido (training from 14-present).

Track Meet

Arts and Music

Music is a very important part of my life and a big form of self-expression for me. Some of my favorite artists of all time are Metallica, Pearl Jam, Mötley Crüe, My Chemical Romance, Heart Shaped Lakes, and more. I have been to nine concerts for some of my favorite music artists, and have planned many more. I am currently learning to play bass with the help of some of my friends.

I also enjoy art in many mediums. One of my favorites is seed beading jewelry, which is an art that requires an incredible amount of patience, but it is quite calming. I also enjoy painting, sketching, sculpting, and jewelry making!


One of my favorite things to do is to travel around the world and experience new things. I have been to 15 countries at this point, from the hot and humid Caribbean to ice cold Canada. Two of the best places I've been are Paris, where I spent two weeks as an exchange student. I also went to Italy where I explored the Amalfi Coast and visited incredible monuments like Pompeii.

Conca dei Marini, Italy

Scuba Diving

I have been a National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI) certified scuba diver since October 2019. Scuba diving is an incredibly unique and interesting activity. As stressful as scuba diving sounds to some, I find it incredibly relaxing. When I'm in the water I feel free and weightless, and the lack of sound or communication allows me to get lost in thought while enjoying some of the most beautiful sights on the planet. I have dove in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, St. Croix, and Grand Cayman, where I've seen dozens of species of exotic fish and colorful species of coral.

Scuba diving in St. Croix, USVI