Home Page Computer Science Humanities Math Physics Spanish STEM STW STEM2

Welcome to My Life!

Hello there! My name is Noé François-Saint-Cyr, and I am a junior at the Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science in Worcester. My sending school is the Advanced Math and Science Academy (AMSA) in Marlborough, and I spent 5 years studying at AMSA from 6th grade to 10th grade. I love to travel and have visited over 20 countries of the world and wish to continue exploring them as I grow older. I love to play soccer, but I am also very focused on my academics. I was born in the United States, but both my parents are from French colonies, with my father coming from Martinique and my mother coming from mainland France. I have always been fascinated with biology and the medical world, and I strive to become a pediatrician or general practicioner in the future. I aspire to attend med-school after my undergrad, and would love to attend a biologically strong university. I have always had a passion for aviation, and wish to pursue a pilot's license in the future. One of my hobbies that I love to do in my free time is reading books. My favorite genre is fantasy novels, but I sometimes read other genres such as non-fiction and historical fiction.


During the summer of 2019, I spent five weeks at Brigham and Women's hospital in Boston during an internship with Harvard Medical School with Doctor Matthew Steinhauser. Throughout this internship, I participated in research on obesity and diabetes, as we studied gene expression in mice that were fed different diets. One group was starved for 24 hours, one group was fed regularly, and one group was fed a high-fat diet. Next, we would harvest the fat from these mice, and undergo the process of preparation in order to run the DNA through a QPCR machine. Before running the samples through the QPCR, we first ran the samples through a Nano-drop to test for contamination, mostly due to ethanol washes. Finally, the QPCR gave us data on whether certain genes were expressed more and which were expressed less. The next part, which was data analysis, allowed us to see what genes were upregulated during high fat feeding(HFF) and which were upregulated during the starving state. What we were looking for was genes that were upregulated in one case and downregulated in another, signifying a likely connection to the mouse's eating style. Throughout the internship, I learned a lot of information about the biological research world, and also learned many techniques lab techniques. All in all, welcome to my website, and I hope you find what you are looking for!



Every summer for the last 8 years, I have visited France and travelled to different parts of the country. The most notable experience I had in France was my visit to the French Alps, where I hiked for about 20 days and explored the vast mountain range. There were many beautiful sights to see, and having a house right in front of the Mont Blanc, the tallest mountain in Europe, was truly a luxury. We went on several hikes as well as explored Italy and Switzerland, and it was a very exciting experience. We got to see glaciers and pristine lakes, which I am glad I got to see as many things are changing in this world due to climate change and other factors. I also got the chance to visit many interesting places such as Auvergne, which is actually a volcanic range, and got the chance to experience different aspects of the French culture.


OP Smile and Trail Building Community Service

As for giving back to the community, I have worked on a couple projects as service. First, I was part of Operation Smile at AMSA, which gave me the opportunity to organize and run fundraisers in order to collect money to pay for cleft lip and cleft palate surgery, and I learnt a lot from the management perspective in this club. I also assisted in a friend’s eagle scout project in building a bridge. This project enables people to access a 26 mile trail around my town, Marlborough, which was previously inaccessible due to marsh and swampland. From this activity, I learned to use many hand-held building tools that I had no previous knowledge in, which I found to be a very profound and fulfilling experience.

Seven Hills Video Calls Community Service

At Mass Academy, it is required for students to have 50 hours of community service in order to graduate junior year and enter senior year. Many students were planning on completing their hours during the spring, but due to COVID-19, were incapable of performing their planned activities. During the pandemic, many people who are high risk find themselves stuck at home without being able to see many people, and Jackie A. and I noticed that and planned, with the help of Seven Hills directors, daily video calls to the people in Seven Hills houses in order to brighten up their days. Seven Hills has a variety of different people, some who have physical disability, some have mental disability, some suffer from both. There people were getting lonely and bored in the houses they stayed in, so we emailed all the Mass Academy students in our class giving them opportunities to come entertain the Seven Hills clients on ZOOM calls. This gave students the chance to complete their 50 hours, as well as keep the clients company. I really enjoyed doing this service because of all the smiling faces we got to see every day, and the people were really happy to get to talk to students. Students performed a range of activities, including reading books and short stories, playing online games and trivia, doing karaoke, and more. In the end, we spent about 100 hours over 11 weeks helping both Mass Academy students and the Seven Hills clients.


Ever since I was about 5 years old, I have played soccer, starting with the town leagues and moving on to play NPL for Global Premier Soccer (GPS). I started on the bottom teams but worked hard every summer, which at first showed no improvement. I many times thought of just accepting being on the bottom team. However, I kept working and actually managed to make the Regional Elite team, and the year after that, I advanced to the State Elite team. I stayed on the State Elite team for a year and then, finally, at age 15, I made NPL. I also got cut from the soccer program at AMSA in 8th grade, but did not give up. The next year, as a freshman, I was the only freshman to make Varsity because of the work I put into soccer that year. I have played AMSA Varsity soccer ever since, and continue to support the team. I got many lessons from playing a team sport and learned to work cooperatively with many others in order to achieve a result.

Musical Interest

Ever since I was about 7 years old, I have played piano and have practiced under Jorge and Horacio Castro, my piano teachers. I have always enjoyed many aspects of music, from singing to dancing to playing, and I plan to continue to grow a musical mind.