People:

Current (2020-2021) Members:

picture

Prof. Marko B. Popovic
Director, Popovic Labs
Email: mpopovic@wpi.edu

Curriculum Vitae


picture

Matthew Bowers, PhD
Email: mpbowers@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced Hydro Muscle actuated Leg , Robotics, Orthotics & Prosthetics, Augmentation, New Flying Concepts;


picture

Mia Buccowich
Email: mkbuccowich@wpi.edu
Project(s): Partial Hand Prosthetic.
The winner of the 2021 Provost's Best MQP Award in Robotics Engineering.
WPI Press release and wonderful article in the Boston Globe


picture

Liam Casey
Email: ljcasey@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hands-Free Crutch Alternative.


picture

Davis Catherman, graduate student
Email: dscatherman@wpi.edu
Project(s): Lunar Hovercraft. Linguistics of advanced Robot manipulation. Robot(s) learning with and without human(s) in the loop. Reinforcement learning


picture

Ellen Clarrissimeaux
Email: eclarrissimeaux@wpi.edu
Project(s): New valves, robot architectures, biomimetic systems. Exosuit for walking and running. Bioinspired Exosuit
(1.) Conference proceeding BIODEVICES 2020, (2.) Book Chapter (Extended Paper) in Biomedical Engineering Systems and Technologies, 2021, (3.) CRFC valve provisional patent


picture

Julia D'Agostino
Email: jedagostino@wpi.edu
Project(s): Artificial skin; new valves, robot architectures, biomimetic systems. Prosthetics. Exosuit for walking and running.Bioinspired Exosuit
(1.) Conference proceeding BIODEVICES 2020, (2.) Book Chapter (Extended Paper) in Biomedical Engineering Systems and Technologies, 2021, (3.) CRFC valve provisional patent


picture

Christopher Engel
Email: crengel@wpi.edu
Project(s): Autonomous Mural Painting Robot.


picture

Brian Fay
Email: bcfay@wpi.edu
Project(s): Partial Hand Prosthetic.
WPI Press release and wonderful article in the Boston Globe


picture

Samantha Grillo
Email: sgrillo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Interactive Bio-Inspired Dino.


picture

Matthew Hoffer
Email: mrhoffer@wpi.edu
Project(s): Autonomous Mural Painting Robot.


picture

Cameron LeBlanc
Email: cjleblanc@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hands-Free Crutch Alternative.


picture

Ryan Luisi
Email: rluisi@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hands-Free Crutch Alternative.


picture

Jason Martino
Email: jamartino@wpi.edu
Project(s): Autonomous Mural Painting Robot.


picture

Ndenda M Mutsaku Fierro
Email: nmmutsakufierro@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exosuit for walking and running. Bioinspired Exosuit


picture

Kalani Picho
Email: kmpicho@wpi.edu
The winner of the 2021 Salisbury Prize.
Project(s): Interactive Bio-Inspired Dino.


picture

Kenneth Rhodes
Email: karhodes@wpi.edu
Project(s): Interactive Bio-Inspired Dino.


picture

Adam Santos, graduate student
Email: asantos@wpi.edu
Project(s): Reinforcement learning


picture

Andrew Strauss
Email: astrauss@wpi.edu
Project(s): Partial Hand Prosthetic.
The winner of the 2021 Provost's Best MQP Award in Robotics Engineering.
WPI Press release and wonderful article in the Boston Globe


picture

Alec Kneedler
Email: atkneedler@wpi.edu
Project(s): Interactive Bio-Inspired Dino.


Past Members:

TILL 2020

picture

David Barber
Email: dtbarber@wpi.edu
Project(s): Next-Gen Wearable Robotics.


picture

Tina Barsoumian
Email: tabarsoumian@wpi.edu
Project(s): Active Assistive Knee Device.


picture

Calum Briggs, graduate student
Email: crbriggs@wpi.edu
Project(s): Soft Matter Manipulation -- New Balance sponsored research with dual arm Yaskawa robot.


picture

Connor Field
Email: cjfield@wpi.edu
Project(s): Next-Gen Wearable Robotics.


picture

Juan D. Florez, graduate student
Email: jflorezcastillo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Wearable Robotics and varible stiffness actuators; Space Robotics. Trans-Gravitational Robot (TGR).


picture

Mervyn Larrier, graduate student (back to lab)
Email: malarrier@wpi.edu
Project(s): Accurate Prosthetic Hand, EEG and EMG controlled; Partial hand prosthesis.


picture

Abraham Masse
Email: ammasse@wpi.edu
Project(s): Next-Gen Wearable Robotics.


picture

Jason McGrath
Email: jlmcgrath@wpi.edu
Project(s): Active Assistive Knee Device.


picture

Mitchell Reid
Email: hreid@wpi.edu
Project(s): Next-Gen Wearable Robotics.


picture

Felix Sanchez, graduate student
Email: fasanchez@wpi.edu
Project(s): Wearable robotics, teleoperation. Space Robotics. Trans-Gravitational Robot (TGR). Simulation.


picture

Zachary Shaffer
Email: zshaffer@wpi.edu
Project(s): Next-Gen Wearable Robotics.


picture

Jakob Sperry
Email: jsperry@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exosuit for walking and running.Partial hand prosthesis.


picture

Christina Steele
Email: casteele@wpi.edu
Project(s): Active Assistive Knee Device.


picture

Kassidy Utheim
Email: kputheim@wpi.edu
Project(s): Active Assistive Knee Device.


picture

Zach Zlotnick
Email: zjzlotnick@wpi.edu
Project(s): Active Assistive Knee Device.


TILL 2019

picture

Maddie Brennan
Email: mzbrennan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Investigation of UCL Tears in Baseball Pitchers using Hydro Muscle actuated robot, UCL brace;


picture

Eric Carkin
Email: ewcarkin@wpi.edu
Project(s): The Rehabilitative/Assistive Arm Exoskeleton for assistance with feeding and other tasks (Muscular Dystrophy);


picture

Nikhil Castelino, graduate student
Email: nmcastelino@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robot arms' manipulation based on the pupil tracking;


picture

Steven Gallagher
Email: sdgallagher@wpi.edu
Project(s): Investigation of UCL Tears in Baseball Pitchers using Hydro Muscle actuated robot, UCL brace;


picture

Parker Grant
Email: pagrant@wpi.edu
Project(s): The Rehabilitative/Assistive Arm Exoskeleton for assistance with feeding and other tasks (Muscular Dystrophy);


picture

Evan Hallberg
Email: echallberg@wpi.edu
Project(s): Wearable robotics, teleoperation.


picture

Alexander Krasa, graduate student
Email: ajkrasa@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robot arms' manipulation based on the pupil tracking;


picture

Ben Kurtze
Email: bzkurtze@wpi.edu
Project(s): Investigation of UCL Tears in Baseball Pitchers using Hydro Muscle actuated robot, UCL brace;


picture

Shannon Moffat, graduate student
Email: smmoffat@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biomimetic humanoid walking robot, new valves.


picture

Lauren Morgan-Evans
Email: ljmorganevans@wpi.edu
Project(s): actively powered, gait (FSR,IMU) and environment (sonic sensors) sensitized exosuit (robotic sock) for drop foot;


picture

Alberto Ramirez, graduate student
Email: aramirez2@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robot arms' manipulation based on the pupil tracking;


picture

Paula Sardi
Email: psardi@wpi.edu
Project(s): Investigation of UCL Tears in Baseball Pitchers using Hydro Muscle actuated robot, UCL brace;


picture

Mingqi Shuai
Email: mshuai@wpi.edu
Project(s): Soft Matter Manipulation device (for robotic sewing);


picture

Bryan Therrien
Email: brtherrien@wpi.edu
Project(s): The Rehabilitative/Assistive Arm Exoskeleton for assistance with feeding and other tasks (Muscular Dystrophy);


picture

Hannah Yeung
Email: hyeung@wpi.edu
Project(s): actively powered, gait (FSR,IMU) and environment (sonic sensors) sensitized exosuit (robotic sock) for drop foot;


picture

Michelle Zhang
Email: mzhang5@wpi.edu
Project(s): Soft Matter Manipulation device (for robotic sewing);


TILL 2018

picture

Shlok Agarwal, graduate student
Email: ssagarwal@wpi.edu
Project(s): Bipedal locomotion, balance & stability, simulation & control;


picture

Thomas Brown
Email: tabrown@wpi.edu
Project(s): Tactile robot sewing -- New Balance sponsored research (with dual arm Yaskawa robot);


picture

Kenneth Colpritt
Email: kcolpritt@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biomimetic humanoid walking robot


picture

Andrew Curran
Email: apcurran@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biomimetic humanoid walking robot


picture

Ryan Eastwood
Email: reastwood@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robo dog


picture

Walter Gallati
Email: wggallati@wpi.edu
Project(s): EEG based non-invasive neural controller


picture

Hannan (Ben) Liang
Email: hliang2@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robo dog


picture

Melissa McCormick
Email: mhmccormick@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle actuated Hand Brace


picture

Sarah O'Grady
Email: saogrady@wpi.edu
Project(s): Tactile robot sewing -- New Balance sponsored research (with dual arm Yaskawa robot);


picture

Evan Stelly
Email: emstelly@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle actuated Hand Brace


picture

Mariah Sullivan
Email: mksullivan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biomimetic humanoid walking robot


picture

William Sullivan
Email: wsullivan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Tactile robot sewing -- New Balance sponsored research (with dual arm Yaskawa robot);


picture

Caleb Wagner
Email: cwagner@wpi.edu
Project(s): RoboDog;


picture

Sahawat Amonlikitsin
Email: samonlikitsin@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biped walking robot


picture

Andrew Lewis
Email: allewis@wpi.edu
Project(s): Tactile robot sewing -- New Balance sponsored research (with dual arm Yaskawa robot);


picture

Namrita Madhusoodanan, graduate student
Email: nmadhusoodanan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Tactile robot sewing -- New Balance sponsored research (with dual arm Yaskawa robot);


picture

Albert Nanabeka
Email: ananabeka@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle actuated Hand Brace


picture

Thananart Piyajarawong
Email: ttpiyajarawong@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biped walking robot


picture

Patrick Polley
Email: pjpolley@wpi.edu
Project(s): EEG based non-invasive neural controller


picture

Michael Steidel
Email: masteidel@wpi.edu
Project(s): Robo dog


picture

Zhengxing Yang
Email: zyang2@wpi.edu
Project(s): Biped walking robot


TILL 2017

picture

Erika Giancarlo, research assistant
Email: evgiancarlo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Electromagnetic Metamaterial Energy Harvesting


picture

Chinmay Harmalkar, graduate student
Email: cvharmalkar@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles dynamics, simulation and control;


picture

Shannon Harrington
Email: slharrington@wpi.edu
Project(s): The Automated Cochleostomy, collaboration with University of Zürich Hospital (Universitätsspital Zürich, USZ);


picture

Casey Kracinovich
Email: crkracinovich@wpi.edu
Project(s): Accurate Prosthetic Hand, EEG and EMG controlled;


picture

Mervyn Larrier
Email: malarrier@wpi.edu
Project(s): Accurate Prosthetic Hand, EEG and EMG controlled;


picture

Yunda Li
Email: yli10@wpi.edu
Project(s): RoboDog;


picture

Abhishek Kashyap, graduate student
Email: akashyap@wpi.edu
Project(s): Novel fluid actuated joints, system architecture, and control;


picture

Mitchell K Muller, graduate student
Email: mkmuller@wpi.edu
Project(s): Gait Assistive Shoulder Prosthesis: Shoulder Control Moment Gyroscope (SCMG)


picture

Stephen Olis
Email: sjolis@wpi.edu
Project(s): Aquatic locomotion: A First-Principle's Approach to Propeller-Intrinsic Losses;


picture

Lucius Park
Email: llpark@wpi.edu
Project(s): Novel valves, fluid actuators, system architecture, and control;


picture

Michael Pickett
Email: mcpickett@wpi.edu
Project(s): RoboDog;


picture

Dylan Renshaw
Email: drenshaw@wpi.edu
Project(s): Accurate Prosthetic Hand, EEG and EMG controlled;


picture

Elina Saint-Elme
Email: elsaintelme@wpi.edu
Project(s): Accurate Prosthetic Hand, EEG and EMG controlled;


picture

Christopher Salomone
Email: casalomone@wpi.edu
Project(s): The Automated Cochleostomy, collaboration with University of Zürich Hospital (Universitätsspital Zürich, USZ);


picture

Jonathan Tai
Email: jltai@wpi.edu
Project(s): Novel valves, fluid actuators, system architecture, and control;


TILL 2016

picture

Nicholas Benson
Email: nebenson@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles actuated Exo-legs for therapy and games;


picture

Daniel Felix
Email: dfelix@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced fitting for more life like prosthetic limbs; MQP Presentation , April 21, 2016


picture

Connor Flanigan
Email: cjflanigan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Gamified Music Learning System with VR Force Feedback


picture

Jason Hyacinthe
Email: jasonhy@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles actuated Exo-legs for therapy and games;


picture

Ananth Jonnavittula, graduate student
Email: ajonnavittula@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

Christian Kaan, graduate student
Email: clkaan@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Bones; Variable stiffness Exoskeleton;


picture

John Kelly, graduate student
Email: jdkelly@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

Lynn Koesterman, graduate student
Email: lrkoesterman@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

William Manning
Email: wfmanning@wpi.edu
Project(s): Gamified Music Learning System with VR Force Feedback;


picture

Elizabeth Martino
Email: emartino@wpi.edu
Project(s): Gamified Music Learning System with VR Force Feedback;


picture

Jourdan McKenna
Email: jrmckenna@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter, flapping wings robotic bird;


picture

Triet Pham
Email: tmpham@wpi.edu
Project(s): Shoulder elbow exomusculture;


picture

Steven Ruotolo
Email: sdruotolo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles actuated Exo-legs for therapy and games;


picture

Daniel Sanderson
Email: dhsanderson@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter, flapping wings robotic bird;


picture

Saivimal Sridar, graduate student
Email: ssridar@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles with and without granular media; Hydro Bones; Variable stiffness Exoskeleton;


picture

Selim Tanriverdi
Email: setanriverdi@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced fitting for more life like prosthetic limbs; MQP Presentation , April 21, 2016


picture

Crystal Trivedi
Email: cbtrivedi@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced fitting for more life like prosthetic limbs; MQP Presentation , April 21, 2016


picture

Seiichiro Ueda, graduate student
Email: sueda@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle Sensors and Control; Legchair


picture

Varun Verlencar, graduate student
Email: vvverlencar@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

Everett Wenzlaff
Email: ecwenzlaff@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced fitting for more life like prosthetic limbs; MQP Presentation , April 21, 2016


picture

Frederick Wight
Email: fmwight@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter, flapping wings robotic bird;


picture

Amaid Zia, graduate student
Email: azia@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

Brian Baggaley
Email: bdbaggaley@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter, flapping wings robotic bird;


picture

Richard Matthew Rafferty, graduate student
Email: rmrafferty@wpi.edu
Project(s): Legchair;


picture

Chenwei Zhang
Email: czhang2@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles actuated Exo-legs for therapy and games;


TILL 2015

picture

Andrew Barth
Email: ajbarth@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle Control


picture

Carlos Berdeguer
Email: ceberdeguer@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters 2015


picture

Daniel Coffey
Email: dpcoffey@wpi.edu
Project(s): Kangaroo robot hopping


picture

Nicholas Deisadze, B.S. (WPI), M.S. (Cornell University), researcher
Email: ndeisadze@wpi.edu
Project(s): Various Projects


picture

Daniel Fitzgerald
Email: djfitzgerald@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Dog bounding


picture

Erika Giancarlo (back to Popovic Labs in 2017)
Email: evgiancarlo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Variable stiffness Exoskeleton; Electromagnetic Metamaterial Energy Harvesting


picture

Thane R. Hunt
Email: trhunt@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exomusculature , Linear One-to-Many System and Hydro Dog bounding


picture

Andres Leiro
Email: afleiro@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Dog bounding


picture

Corey Majeika, graduate student
Email: cmajeika@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles with and without granular media


picture

Hannah Sattler
Email: hesattler@wpi.edu
Project(s): Fluid Foot


picture

Phillip Schaffer, graduate student
Email: pmschaffer@wpi.edu
Project(s): Advanced Hydro Muscle actuated Leg (Robotics, Orthotics & Prosthetics, Augmentation)


picture

Hanna Schmidtman
Email: hlschmidtman@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters 2015


picture

Jonathan Sorrells
Email: jlsorrells@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle Control


picture

Peter Starek
Email: pcstarek@wpi.edu
Project(s): Kangaroo robot hopping


picture

Austin Waid-Jones
Email: acwaidjones@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters 2015


picture

Jonathan Wu
Email: jtwu@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscle Control


picture

Alphan Canga
Email: acanga@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter flapping study 2015


picture

Michael Delia
Email: mkdelia@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter flapping study 2015


picture

Alexander Hyman
Email: amhyman@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter flapping study 2015


picture

Angela Nagelin
Email: amnagelin@wpi.edu
Project(s): Ornithopter flapping study 2015


TILL 2014

picture

Alexandra Beando
Email: albeando@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters and Fluid Foot


picture

Adam Blumenau, graduate student
Email: adamblumenau@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Muscles and Exomusculature


picture

Jesus Chung
Email: jchungmoc@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters


picture

Nicholas Corso
Email: ndscorso@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Artificial Muscle (HAM) Exo-Musculature


picture

Daniil Effraimidis
Email: danefre@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Artificial Muscle (HAM) Exo-Musculature


picture

Anne Harris
Email: afharris@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Artificial Muscle (HAM) Exo-Musculature


picture

Brian Jennings
Email: bjennings@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Artificial Muscle (HAM) Exo-Musculature


picture

Greg McCarthy
Email: gmccarthy@wpi.edu
Project(s): Hydro Artificial Muscle (HAM) Exo-Musculature


picture

Chris Overton
Email: c.o@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters


picture

Tyler Pietri
Email: pietrit@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters


picture

Kevin Ramirez
Email: kmramirez@wpi.edu
Project(s): Test Bed for Ornithopters


picture

Eric Reich
Email:ereich@wpi.edu
Project(s): Theoretical Particle Physics and General Relativity


picture

Brian Scholwin
Email: bascholwin@wpi.edu
Project(s): Experimental and Theoretical Study of Novel Magnetic Field Based Propulsion


picture

Bo Rim Seo
Email: borimseo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Bio-inspired flapping bird (ornithopter) robot and flying studies


TILL 2013

picture

Christopher Berthelette
Email: c.berthelette@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exomusculature , Linear One-to-Many System , and Rotary One-to-Many System


picture

Nicholas Deisadze (back to Popovic Labs in 2014/15)
Email: ndeisadze@wpi.edu
Project(s): Bio-inspired flapping bird (ornithopter) robot and flying studies


picture

Matthew DiPinto
Email: mdipinto@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exomusculature and Rotary One-to-Many System


picture

Woo Chan Jo
Email: woochanjo@wpi.edu
Project(s): Bio-inspired flapping bird (ornithopter) robot and flying studies


picture

Christopher J. Molica
Email: cmolica@wpi.edu
Project(s): Artificial Muscles for Elbow Brace


picture

Stanley C. Mui
Email: stanmui@wpi.edu
Project(s): Actuated Shoulder Cap and Arm Movements in Walking


picture

Philip D. O'Sullivan
Email: philos491@wpi.edu
Project(s): Bio-inspired flapping bird (ornithopter) robot and flying studies


picture

J.D. Sareault
Email: jsareault@wpi.edu
Project(s): Exomusculature and Rotary One-to-Many System


picture

Kevin Vanslette
Email:kevanslette
Project(s): Theoretical Particle Physics: Higgs and Plank


TILL 2012

Adam Blumenau (back to Popovic Labs in 2013/14)

David Orion Girardo

Alec Ishak

Ephedyn L. Lin

Sahit Mandala

Benjamin Morrison

Franco Antonio Oshiro

Daniel Topping

Garrett Irgens Yablonski