Back to The Mass Academy Page About Me Physics Computer Science Language Humanities Math Modeling Stem I Stem II

About: Marlon Jost

The video below is a montage of a recent backacking trip in the Tetons
Image of ML course certificate

My Academics and Extracurriculars

During middle school and the first two years of high school, I attended the Groton Dunstable Regional High/Middle School. For my Junior (current) year of Highschool I am attending The Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science at WPI. I have always been fascinated by most scientific topics. The first career that I can remember wanting to pursue was astronautics. More recently, I became interested in pursuing a career in machine learning and quantum computing. On that front, I completed an 11 week online course in machine learning over the summer of 2021. (Click here to see certificate). I have also found that I have begun to enjoy pure mathematics more than I used to. I have done a variety of extracurricular activities including cross country running, martial arts, volunteer club, and ski racing. Martial arts has, however, had by far the largest influence over my personality. My recent brown belt test took about 4 or 5 hours and was the hardest thing I had ever done in a single day yet I know the next one will be harder yet, both physically and mentally. My capacity for endurance has been repeatedly pushed to its limits and the challenges have made me confident in my own ability to face anything. I volunteered as an assistant instructor for a time. For more information about where I do martial arts, click here.

Tetons
My Hobbies and Travels

My parents and I have often traveled. While we lived in England, we often went to France during the winter for skiing and to Germany to see family. We also often traveled to South Africa since my sister lived there at the time. Since moving to America, we have primarily explored this remarkably varied country when on vacation. Through my travels, I have discovered that I am happiest when in the mountains. I enjoy many outdoor sports like kitesurfing, waterskiing, and cycling. I have, however, found that little compares to being in the mountains. When in the mountains, I love backpacking, skiing, and cross-country skiing. I also find photography/videography very enjoyable. For an example of my work, click here or look at the video at the top of the page. I also made a quick website for my photography/videography: Drone-shots.org.

Dresden

Personal/Family History

I currently live with my two parents, Uwe and Tina Jost, in Groton, MA. My sister, who lives in England, often comes to visit with her husband and three kids. Me and my parents moved from England when I was seven to Burlington, MA. We stayed there for about a year before moving Groton. Both my parents were born in the 1960’s and grew up in Dresden, Germany.