James P. Hanlan BOOK AWARD



The New England Historical Association is a professional association of over 700 historians who live and work in New England. The focus of the organization is NOT New England History. NEHA members focus on all areas of historical scholarship. NEHA welcomes nominations for the NEHA BOOK AWARD. The Award has been presented annually since 1985 to an author who has lived or worked in New England at some time during the prior two years. NEHA welcomes nominations on any historical topic, time period, or geographic region. Publishers are invited to nominate ONE recently published (during 2009) title. Publishers should send one copy of the book being nominated to each of the judges. The award will be presented at the October, 2010 NEHA meeting.



Send Nominations by June 1, 2010, directly to judges:


Prof. Howard Segal                                                                       Prof. Peter Holloran

Department of History                                                                     41 Linnaean Street

University of Maine                                                                         Cambridge, MA 02138

5774 Stevens Hall

Orono, ME 04469-5774


Prof. James O’Toole                                                                       Prof. Jennifer Tebbe-Grossman

History Department                                                                         School of Arts & Sciences

Boston College                                                                                Mass. College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

140 Commonwealth Avenue                                                         179 Longwood Avenue

Chestnut Hill, MA 02467                                                                Boston, MA 02115


                                         Dr.  Don J. Wyatt, NEHA Book Award Chair

                                         School of Historical Studies

                                         Institute for Advanced Study

                                         Einstein Drive

                                         Princeton, NJ 08540



    NOTE: Each judge should receive a copy of the book being nominated.


Recent Past Winners:

2008: James M. O’Toole, The Faithful: A History of Catholics in America (Harvard UP)

2007: Elizabeth A. DeWolfe, The Murder of Mary Beane and Other Stories (Kent State UP)

2006: Harry S. Stout, Upon the Altar of the Nation: a moral history of the American Civil War (Viking)

2005: Meg Jacobs, Pocketbook Politics: Economic Citizenship in 20th-Century America (Princeton UP)

2004: Brian Donahue, The Great Meadow: Farmers and the Land in Colonial Concord (Yale UP)

2003: Evan Haefeli and Kevin Sweeney, Captors and Captives: The 1740 French and Indian Raid on  Deerfied (University of Massachusetts Press)

2001: Fredric L. Cheyette, Ermengard of Narbonne and the World of the Troubadours (Cornell UP)

2000: Lisa McGirr, Suburban Warriors: The Origins of the New American Right (Princeton UP)

1999: David Howard Bain, Empire Express: Building the First Transcontinental Railroad (Viking Press)



For Further Information: Contact James P. Hanlan, NEHA Executive Secretary: