About Me Community Service Photo Gallery
Amrita Thirumalai
Hi! My name is Amrita Thirumalai, and I am a junior at Mass Academy of Math and Science. For my first two years of high school, I attended Worcester Academy, where I learned a lot and met many new friends. However, once I found my interest in computer science and the new way of logical thinking, I decided to switch schools to go deeper into the field. This is my fifth switch in schools, and I have gained many friends and experiences from each of the schools that I attended.
Picture of me dancing!! Me singing Two of my favorite hobbies are dancing and singing. I have been learning Bharatanatyam and Carnatic singing, both of which are South Indian classical styles, for the past 11 years. Growing up, at my mother’s dance school, I have always been surrounded by music and dance, and they have played a major role in my life. They have helped me root myself in my culture and bring me happiness, especially while practicing with my friends. In addition, I have taught students,ranging from juniors to seniors, in both arts, and in that role, I have become both the student and teacher. I have separate pages for both dance and music under the Fine Arts tab.
Apart from dance and singing, I have been a part of the robotics team since freshman year. I am excited for robotics at MAMS as this school has far more resources and experience than did my previous school. Separately, I have also been participating in science fairs since 6th grade. Through my projects, I have been able to research more into the subjects that I am interested in, and also attempt to solve important problems. To find out more, you can read about my work on my science fair page.
A vase with a painted elephant scene Camp Bournedale I also enjoy painting. It is a very calming activity and I enjoy being creative. More recently, I have really enjoyed painting pottery at PYOP (Paint Your Own Pottery). The environment is very relaxing, and I can spend hours painting with my friends. I painted the pot this past summer.

Some other information about me. My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is a giant panda. During my free time, you will see me either practicing driving, reading books, watching gymnastics or football, spending time with my friends, or chilling at home.

Click through my website to learn more about me and the work I have done!